Blasphemy

With the announcement of Sonic the Hedgehog 4 and all the outpouring of hate for the series in it’s wake I thought it would be a good time to get something off of my chest.

I’ve grown up with Sonic games like many of my peers today.  I saw him at his astronomical heights and have seen him descend to his ridiculous lows.  I’ve made it apparent in previous post that I loved the series back in the day, and loved the music even more.  But with all these opinions being thrown around now that Sonic will be heading on his “4th” adventure I thought I’d put in my 2 cents about one of his most beloved games.

I hate Sonic CD.

That’s right probably the most widely regarded “best” of the series and this long time Sonic fan does not like it one bit.  You see I missed out on the whole Sega CD thing.  Even as a  child I thought it was a bit crazy for me to beg my parents for another system even though there was only one game I saw that I wanted, Sonic CD.  I didn’t actually play Sonic CD until the Sonic Gems Collection came out on the Gamecube about 5 years ago.  In fact it was the sole purpose that I purchased the game, I didn’t much care for the other games on the collection.  I just had to see what all the fuss was about after daring to enter internet gaming forums and seeing many raise this as the best Sonic experience a gamer could have.

So I popped in the disc in my black lunch box and quickly navigated to the option to let me play Sonic CD.  The  first thing that jumped out at me upon playing the game was how much I disliked the music.  I was aware of the whole musical switch from the localization, but I don’ t know what human being thought this would be easier on American ears.  The Japanese tracks are still there in the past sections of the levels and they just feel awkward, not blending in the rest of the level at all.

And that’ s another gripe I have about the game, time traveling.  Don’t get me wrong I’m all for time traveling in games, cartoons, real life etc. I just don’t won’t to be interrupted by one of the most agonizing load screens in history to get to it.  In reality this load screens were probably 1-2 seconds long but for me they really wrecked the flow of the game so much so that I actively avoided the time poles. Which causes me to not get the good futures of each level, thus ruining the whole purpose of the game.

The sheer over the top wackiness of the levels was somewhat of a double edged sword for me.  I do love me some over the top wackiness from time to time but it seemed to make some of the level designs a bit disorienting.  Of course I’m saying this from a modern perspective, had I’d played these levels when I was a kid I might be singing a different tune.

While we’re on the subject of the blue hedgehog there’s something else I’d like to discuss.  Where does all this hate for Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles come from.  There are a few bad things about that games such as the beginning of the the end of Sonic only games with the introduction of playable Knuckles and the fact that they were 1 game split into 2.  But putting all that aside, Sonic 3 & Knuckles is the best pure Sonic experience you can have in my opinion.

I have no idea if Sonic the Hedgehog 4 will be any good.  Judging by Sonic team’s last decade of work it probably won’t be, but they have my attention which is good enough for now

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

