VVVVVV

I don’t follow the indie game scene much.  The main problem that I see is there isn’t a great forum for the cream to rise to the top.  It’s a few good games in an ocean of mediocrity and crap.  There is the Xbox indie games that I’ve checked out every now and again.  There’s only been one game I’ve payed for and that’s Groov which is an awesome Geometry Wars clone revolving around music, but it didn’t really grab me.  While not having my pulse on the Indie pulse, I knew I had spotted a gem when I saw VVVVVV on Giantbomb’s Quicklook features.

VVVVVV is a simple platformer created by Terry Cavanagh based around switching gravity with a Commodore 64 aesthic.  It’s super simplistic but also extremely challenging and fun.  It has a Metroid like feel to it with each screen representing a grid on a map, with no scrolling between screens and everything is interconnected.  Each screen also has a unique color and name featured across the bottom of the screen to help from getting too disoriented from flying around the different screens in all different directions.

The challenge in the game is absolutely spot on.  There are some rooms in the game that are downright brutal with the timing you need to have, but with VVVVVV’s great controls and generous checkpoint system it never feels unfair.  The checkpoint system really needs to be commended.  I can’t say how many times I would have just given up and never finished the game had I not respawned right were I died.  It really speaks to the thought put into the game.

The game’s story is pretty simple as well, something to do with dimensional rifts and trying to get back to your own dimension.  It all boils down to your 5 crew members on your ship being missing (all with names starting with v, hence the name of the game) and you having to rescue them from a grim fate.  Some of the ways you go about rescuing these crew members can be pretty interesting as well but I won’t spoil anything.

The soundtrack featured in the game is simply amazing.  I love old 8-bit tunes and this game had the feel of those old games in spades.  The soundtrack was so good that my girlfriend who doesn’t really care for chiptunes really got into it.  If you go and try out the demo and think it’s something that isn’t for you but still dig the music you can download the soundtrack straight from the composer and still be able to experience the soundtrack.

My playtime clocked in at around 2 hours, and for 15 bucks I’d say it was well worth it for how much fun I had.  For those interested I died 707 times and the room I died the most in was “Three’s Company”. Immediately after I beat it my girlfriend started a game and promptly died 400 times but never gave up.  I think that says alot about the quality of the game.

I haven’t seen a lot of coverage on this game I thought I would help get the name out there, it truly is worth looking at

You can try the game at http://www.kongregate.com/games/TerryCavanagh/vvvvvv-demo

You can purchase the game at http://www.thelettervsixtim.es/

You can purchase the soundtrack at http://souleye.madtracker.net/

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “VVVVVV”

  1. Buttnugget Says:

    How many deaths do you think I will have by the end of the game? I think about 3000.


Leave a Reply

