Blue Skies

I think one of the best art decision a game developer can make is to have feature deep blue skies in their games.  Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always gravitated toward more colorful worlds in games. I think a lot of that has to do with the summer days I would spend as a child running around the country near our house.  Of Course I didn’t go out on rainy, cloudy, gray days so my fond memories always take place on a blue colorful backdrop. Green Hill Zone was the 1st area in a game I can remember wishing I could visit as a kid.  With those crazy blue skies and waterfalls, it definitely seems like a great destination for a vacation.  Sonic must have had it pretty nice back in the days he didn’t hang out in the big city. I think out of all the levels in every game I’ve ever played I’ve spent the most time in Bomb-Omb Battlefield from Super Mario 64. I rented the N64 3 times before I ever had my own and each time I got Super Mario 64 with it.  I remember going to that 1st level just to hang out and bask in the colorful 3-dness of it all.  I know the shot above isn’t from Bomb-Omb Batttlefield but I couldn’t find one that I really liked.

Legend of Mana was an absolutely gorgeous game.  Your home and the town of Domina in the game are probably the most inviting places to live that I’ve ever seen.  The watercolor backgrounds and the amazing soundtrack of the game make it one of my favorite environments of all time.

Dragon Quest VIII was the 1st Dragon Quest game I had ever played.  What initially attracted me to the game was the preview pictures of the big open world.  The game didn’t dissappoint, with it’s giant open world to explore and not to mention colorful blue background.

I wasn’t really too excited on the prospects of a new Banjo-Kazooie game until I saw the screens for Nutty Acres.  I love the idea of a patchwork, manufactured world complete with giant screens to show off the blue skies that aren’t really there.  The game didn’t really grab me as much as the rest on this list but it still deserves a mention.

And at last we get to a more contemporary game.  The visual style of Borderlands is a distinct one, but I think the color choices would be a complete turn off for me if it wasn’t for one thing, that big blue sky.  This is the game that inspired me to write this post.  I recently realized that I enjoyed my time in Borderlands exponentially more because of the blue sky.  It gives it an extra bit of emotion that would otherwise make it a dreary, depressing world to be in.

The moral of all of this, well I guess there really isn’t one.  Only that you’re more likely to get my money if you have a more colorful game.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

