Setback!

So I did the thing I wanted to do in my last post, but I’ve having a hard time trying to find a place to host it.  I am actively looking, so fear not!

I’ve been playing a ton of Final Fantasy XIII here lately.  It’s scratching an RPG itch that I honestly didn’t know I was needing.  I feel like I’ve past a pivotal point in the story where the characters have seem to unite against a common foe other than wondering around aimlessly.  This turn was definitely something that the game needed.  It makes the simple A to B flow of navigating the game seem to mean a whole lot more.

This is a dangerous road I am traveling down though.  Playing RPGs only makes me want to buy more RPGs.  I had White Knight Chronicles (along with Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition and Bioshock 2) in my hand at Gamestop ready to purchase.  My better judgement got the best of me and I put it back because I knew I could get it online cheaper.  Every time I pass Dragon Quest IX at a store I contemplate buying it for those days when I will be doing laundry or when my girlfriend will be playing her game of Final Fantasy XIII.  These are dangerous trappings to have me fall back into a mountain of backlog.  I still haven’t beaten Dragon Quest V which I got last time I caught the RPG fever and I hated the last non-Dragon Quest related Level-5 game I played (Rogue Galaxy).  I guess it’s just the consumer whore in me that screams “BUY BUY BUY” when I see those shiny boxes.

There are good reasons why I am interested in Dragon Quest IX despite losing interest in the last one I’ve played.  They’ve made genuine changes to the gameplay: specifically the lack of random battles.  This is huge for me, seeing as I didn’t finish Lost Odyssey as well because that game had them.  The whole objective of getting loot in the game also has me salivating for the new DS RPG.

Despite my luxurious wants in life, I have resolved to not buy anymore games until I beat one I have not.  That’s looking like it’ll be Final Fantasy XIII, unless I lose interest prematurely which is entirely possible.  Also on the back burner is Infamous and Red Faction: Guerrilla.  Red Faction isn’t as good as it was made out to me to be, but it is fun and satisfying  to DECIMATE MARS WITH MY HAMMER.

Hopefully I can report on one or all of these in the coming days.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

