Checking In

Just checking in with some thoughts on some of the games I’ve been playing.  I picked up Super Meat Boy recently to take advantage of that I thought was a day long sale (turns out to be month long sale).  I don’t regret spending my 10 bucks.  This game takes the simple platforming of a game like Super Mario and boils it down to its simplest most delicious form and turns the difficulty off the charts.  It’s just a series of 5 second long levels that get progressively harder to the point of absolute insanity.  I never found the game to be overly frustrating though (granted I’m only a few worlds in) but it does not play around.  I think the quick resets to the beginning after you die really help in that.  It’s hard to stay mad at a poor performance when you’re right back in the game half a second later.  I doubt I will ever finish this game since I’m already seeming the limit of my skills but it has taken me for a wild ride that I’m very happy with.

I also got extremely luck with finding Bioshock 2 Special Edition for 17 bucks on clearance at Target.  While I’m glad to have found the game for so cheap, this isn’t turning out to be the thrill ride I was hoping it would be.  It’s definitely a game worth 17 bucks but it just doesn’t feel like a worthy successor to Bioshock.  I can’t put my finger on exactly why.  Maybe it just feels weird with all the new stuff they crammed in.  The additions such as Big Sisters and defending little sisters make the it seem a bit more like the game was made in a boardroom rather than a visionaries head.  But like I said, it’s a great deal at 17 bucks and I got the original game’s soundtrack on vinyl and that’s probably worth the money in it of itself.

The Undead Nightmare DLC on Red Dead Redemption is really tempting.  Only 10 bucks for a few hours of zombie adventuring with John Marston?  Sign me up!  Hopefully I’ll be able to pick it up before Christmas and I can give some thoughts on it as well.

Until next time kids!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

