The 25 Games of Christmas: Part 2

I didn’t say in the earlier post, but this list is no particular order.  It’s just games that I have a distinctly Christmas memory for.

20: Star Wars: Shadows of the Empire

This game was a complete mess.  Even with the shine of a brand new console (the N64 in this case) I started to notice it’s flaws after playing it for only a few days.  I can remember being at a friends ( the same friend who convinced me to get this game) house on Christmas Eve for his Christmas party.  He had rented the game despite the fact that he was getting it the next day for Christmas.  I was pretty wowed by the whole thing, especially the speeder level.  The next night a few of my aunts, uncles and cousins came over to the house for Christmas.  I demonstrated the worse game playing in history while just about my entire family watching while trying to pilot the jetpack through the canyons.  It was a nightmare.  Eventually my cousin took the controller and finished it the first try.  I’m pretty positive he was cheating somehow.

19: Sonic Spinball

Another not so great game on this list.  Yeah I had some pretty off tastes back in the day, but I was a young child seduced by the corporate hype machine.  I received this game from my brother the year it came out.  I can remember looking at the back and was shocked that 16 players could play this game.  The video tape we have of that Christmas Eve went something like this.  Me:  Hey! Look up to 16 players can play this game!

My Bro: Probably one at a time idiot.

Me: Sad face

I can also remember this kid on the bus getting it for Christmas too, and he wasn’t the brightest crayon in the box.  I felt sort of ashamed to be associated with him in that way.

18: Dragon Quest VIII

Dragon Quest VIII was one of the few games I got for the Christmas of 2005.  It was the year I was living in Florida and going to school, so basic necessities were needed for Christmas and not frivolous games.  But I think I made the right decision in choosing this game because it was packed with so much game, that it might as well been a few games.  I spent just about my entire short break sitting on my parents living room floor playing it all night like I was 10 years old again.  I probably neglected a few visitation with friends that year because of this game.

17: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

Now for a great game! A recent game as well.  I received Uncharted 2 last year for Christmas and I couldn’t have been happier.  I know that it’s kinda weird to have a nostalgic feeling about a game that came out last year, but everytime I play that opening cat burglar like sequence I think of Christmas.  I can also remember trying to sneak away from building a gingerbread house with my girlfriend to get in some more time with the game which was probably my favorite of last year.

16: Sonic 3D Blast

Yep, another Sonic game.  I was rocking the Genesis hard back then, but this entry is different.  I never got Sonic 3D Blast for Christmas and still don’t really own it outside of different Sega Collections.  I rented this game back in 96 in late December.  It was one of the last Genesis games to hold me over til I got my Nintendo 64 on the 25th.  I can remember trying to tell my friend how cool it was on the phone.  He had already had a N64 and wasn’t to impressed with the fake 3D when he was deep into Super Mario 64.  The Diamond Dust Zone music to this game might as well be a freaking Christmas carol to me at this point.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

