Fear of Finishing

I’m having a bad problem at the moment and it’s something I’ve had issues with in the past but not like this before.  I don’t seem to want to finish any game I’m playing.  It’s not because I think any of them are particularly bad but its more out of seeing these interesting stories come to a close.  I noticed it after playing Mass Effect 3 for a while and found myself not wanting to do the very first mission because I knew that was the first step into what (way down the line) would be the endgame.  Sounds silly doesn’t it?  I thought so to but I’m having the same problem with no less than 4 other titles at the moment (Assassin’s Creed: Revelations, Uncharted 3 Dark Souls and The Legend of Zelda: The Skyward Sword).  I felt the same reluctance to finish Skyrim a few months ago and took a long break from it before I came back and wrapped up every major quest.  I’m sure this will pass and I’ll finish all of these games eventually,  I just have to take it one game at a time.  I probably shouldn’t even speak on the copy of Batman: Arkham City that’s still in it’s shrink wrap from Christmas.

With all that aside, the 4 hours of Mass Effect 3 that I’ve played have been pretty phenomenal.  All those characters coming back to together to fight the Reapers is super compelling to me and I’ll be a little sad when it’s all over.  I went ahead and purchased the “From Ashes” DLC that has most Mass Effect fans up in arms.  I don’t feel as wronged as some from Bioware about the whole situation but I don’t often buy into day one DLC or most DLC period.  I just know that I liked Mass Effect 2 and awful lot and if I had to pay an extra 10 bucks for a little bit more story, then they got me hook, line and sinker.  I guess that just makes me part of the problem but like I said, I don’t buy into anything that’s not on the disc too ofter.  At least that’s what I tell myself to keep from feeling like a complete consumer whore.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

